ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The South Florida Water Management District and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection gratefully acknowledge the contributions of the professionals who have made the 2006 South Florida Environmental Report – Volume I (2006 SFER) a reality.

Authors: This report could not exist without the diligent effort of its authors. Their analyses of complex information form the substance of this work, and its quality and value are a reflection of their competence, commitment, and willingness to respond fully to peer review and public comment. Their professionalism and dedication are gratefully acknowledged. All authors are South Florida Water Management District staff except where noted.

2006 SFER - Volume I Chapter Leads

Wossenu Abtew	Grover G. Payne ¹	Pamela Sievers
Donald M. Axelrad ¹	Tracey T. Piccone	Fred Sklar
Peter Doering	Kathleen Pietro	Kenneth C. Weaver 1

Amy Ferriter ² Steve Poonaisingh Beth Williams
R. Thomas James Garth Redfield Gary E. Williams

Agnes R. McLean

Robert Chamberlain

2006 SFER - Volume I Contributing Authors

Carlos Adorisio	Frank Chang	Ching Garvey
Richard Alleman	Michael Chimney	Guy Germain
David H. Anderson	Violeta Ciuca	J. Lawrence Glenn
Thomas D. Atkeson ¹	Eric Cline	Alan Goldstein
Shane Atkins	David J. Colangelo	Carole Goodyear ⁶
Gerardo Barascout	Erin Colborn	Steffany Gornak
Tomma Barnes	Teresa Coley	Michael Gostel
Rick Bartleson	Christy Combs	Susan Gray
Laura Bauman	Tom Conboy	Herbert Grimshaw II
Ron Bearzotti	Mark Cook	Charles Hanlon
Carmela Bedregal	Carlos Coronado	Karl Havens
Robin Bennett	Samira Daroub ⁴	Marion Hedgepeth
Mike Bodle	Julian DeLeon	Steven Hill
Robert Boney	Bob Doren ⁵	Gordon Hu
Stephen G. Bousquin	Deborah Drum	R. Scott Huebner
Mark Brady	Therese East	April E. Huffman
Jim Burch ³	Marta Edwards	Melody Hunt
Kirk Burns	Stacey Efron	George Hwa
Erynn Call	John Folks	Nenad Iricanin
Christine Carlson	Don Fox	Kimberly Jacobs

i

Joseph Jean-Jacques

Brian Garrett

Kang-Ren Jin Cordella Miessau **Bruce Sharfstein David Johnson** Cheol Mo Rebecca Shoemaker Robert Johnson Jana Newman **Robert Shuford Bradley L. Jones** Susan Newman Kim Shugar Jennifer Jorge **Kevin Nicholas** Patti Sime **Erin Kellis** Nicole Niemeyer **Evan Skornick** Stephen Kelly 4 Skip Snow³ Kim O'Dell Greg Knecht 1 John C. Ogden Trisha Stone Mac Kobza John Outland 1 **Karl Straver Christy Owens** Joseph W. Koebel Jr. **Dan Thaver** Michael Korvela Lou Toth **Douglas Pescatore Thomas Kosier Richard Pfeuffer** Jace Tunnell **James Laing** Curtis D. Pollman 1 Stuart Van Horn Jon Lane 7 **Dean Powell** Tjerk van Veen Ted Lange 1 Paul Pratt⁸ Jose Vega Ken Langeland 4 Anita Rahon **Odi Villapando Neil Larson Gary Ritter** Patricia Walker Jennifer Leeds **Paul Ritter Sharon Wallace Victor Lopez** Rebecca Robbins Yongshan Wan **Christopher Madden** LeRoy Rodgers **Brent Warner** Jonathan Madden **Andrew Rodusky** Benita Whalen **David Rudnick Bonnie Wolff** Fran Matson **Amanda McDonald Darren Rumbold** Shi Kui Xue **Paul McGinnes Ken Rutchey** Joyce Zhang **Christopher McVoy William Salters Hongying Zhao**

> Kenton Samfilippo Don Schmitz ¹

Shili Miao

Ronald Mierau

¹ Florida Department of Environmental Protection

² Boise State University

³ National Park Service

⁴ University of Florida Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences

⁵ U.S. Department of the Interior

⁶ Retired from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

⁷ U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

⁸U.S. Department of Agriculture

Editorial and Production Team: The authors' products were organized, edited, and formatted by an editorial and production team of skilled professionals. Stacey Efron, SFER Production Manager, plays a remarkable role in leading the team's efforts. The exceptional teamwork and productivity of these District staff are respectfully acknowledged: Ken Chen, Christopher King, Patrick Lynch, Trudy Morris, Kathy Ronan, and Diane Smith. The technical editor, Wendy Wagman (Metcalf & Eddy), is also thankfully acknowledged for her significant contribution to this report.

Project Team: Garth Redfield, Chief Environmental Scientist in the District's Environmental Resource Assessment Department, serves as the project manager of the 2006 South Florida Environmental Report – Volume I, managing its development in association with colleagues Stacey Efron and Kirk Burns. This staff works closely with Frank Nearhoof of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection's Water Quality Standards and Special Projects Program to jointly coordinate the creation of Volume I, Chapter 2 and its associated appendices. Overall, this large, multidisciplinary document could not be produced without the thoughtful oversight of senior management. In particular, the effective leadership of Linda Lindstrom, Debra Azeredo, Julianne LaRock, and Jan Loftin from the District are gratefully acknowledged. The guidance of the 2006 SFER Project Management Oversight Group – Debra Azeredo, Aaron Basinger, Douglas Bergstrom, Alejandro Perez, and Steve Reel – is also respectfully acknowledged.

Other Contributors: The extensive amount of data and other information provided throughout Volume I are greatly supported by the three divisions of the District's Environmental Resource Assessment Department – Water Quality Monitoring, Water Quality Analysis, and Water Quality Assessment. The long list of individuals throughout these divisions that have contributed to the essential data collection, monitoring, analyses, validation, and technical assessments for multiple report chapters and appendices continues to contribute to the enormous success of this massive report and their efforts are greatly appreciated. The following District staff is also acknowledged for their vital assistance in conducting the peer review and public workshops: Robin Chesser, Linda Davis, Trudy Morris, Todd Nesst, and Michael Wedding.