ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The South Florida Water Management District and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection gratefully acknowledge the contributions of the professionals who have made the 2005 South Florida Environmental Report – Volume I (2005 SFER) a reality.

Authors: This report could not exist without the diligent effort of its authors. Their analyses of complex information form the substance of this work, and its quality and value are a reflection of their competence, commitment, and willingness to respond fully to peer review and public comment. Their professionalism and dedication are gratefully acknowledged. All authors are South Florida Water Management District staff except where noted.

2005 SFER – Volume I Chapter Leads

Wossenu Abtew	Karl Havens	Garth Redfield
Don Axelrad ¹	Paul McGinnes	Fred Sklar
Amy Ferriter	Agnes R. McLean	Kenneth Weaver ¹
Gary Goforth	Grover G. Payne ¹	Gary E. Williams, Jr.
Michael Gostel	Tracey T. Piccone	

2005 SFER – Volume I Contributing Authors

Elizabeth Abbott	Teresa Coley	Melody Hunt
Carlos Adorisio	Tom Conboy	Nenad Iricanin
Richard Alleman	Mark Cook	Kimberly Jacobs
David H. Anderson	Carlos Coronado-Molina	R. Thomas James
Tom Atkeson ¹	Samira Daroub ¹	Kang-Ren Jin
Tomma Barnes	Peter Doering	Bradley L. Jones
Michael Bauer	Bob Doren ²	Jennifer Jorge
Laura Bauman	Deborah Drum	Stephen Kelly
Tim Bechtel	Stacey Efron	Joseph W. Koebel, Jr.
Carmela Bedregal	Guy Germain	Michael Korvela
Robin Bennett	J. Lawrence Glenn	Jon Lane
Stephen G. Bousquin	Alan Goldstein	Ted Lange ¹
Mark Brady	Carole Goodyear ³	Ken Langeland ⁴
Kirk Burns	Steffany Gornak	Jennifer Leeds
Christine Carlson	Andrew Gottlieb	Christopher Madden
Laura Carnal	Susan Gray	Amanda McDonald
Robert Chamberlain	Scot Hagerthy	Shili Miao
Michael Chimney	Marion Hedgepeth	Cordella Miessau
Violeta Ciuca	Gordon Hu	Cheol Mo
David J. Colangelo	R. Scott Huebner	Jana Newman
Erin Colborn	April Huffman	Susan Newman

i

Kim O'Dell	David Rudnick	Jose Vega
John C. Ogden	Darren Rumbold	Patricia Walker
Jorge Patino	Ken Rutchey	Yongshan Wan
Douglas Pescatore	Pamela Sievers	Robert Wanvestraut
Kathleen Pietro	Patti Sime	Benita Whalen
Curtis Pollman ¹	Lisa Smith	Shi Kui Xue
Barbara Powell	Trisha Stone	Joyce Zhang
Gary Ritter	Dan Thayer	
Rebecca Robbins	Stuart Van Horn	

¹ Florida Department of Environmental Protection

² U.S. Department of the Interior

³ Retired from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

⁴ University of Florida Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences

Editorial and Production Team: The authors' products were organized, edited, and formatted by an editorial and production team of skilled professionals. Stacey Efron, South Florida Environmental Report Production Manager, plays a remarkable role in leading the team's efforts. The exceptional teamwork and productivity of these individuals are respectfully acknowledged: Ken Chen, Dianne W. Dorsey, Zoe Fedeles (Zoe Graphics), Christopher King, Heather Lewin, Patrick Lynch, Trudy Morris, Diane Smith, and Kathy Ronan.

Project Team: Palmer Mason, State Legislative Affairs Representative in the District's Office of Policy and Legislation, is the project sponsor for the 2005 South Florida Environmental *Report*, and provided overall direction in its development. He has also led the effort for legislative modification, along with Henry Bittaker, David Gilpin-Hudson, Beth Ross, and representatives from the other water management districts and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection, in order to make water management district reporting in Florida more effective and efficient.

Garth Redfield, Chief Environmental Scientist in the District's Environmental Resource Assessment Department, serves as the project manager of the 2005 South Florida Environmental Report – Volume I, managing its development in association with colleagues Stacey Efron, Gary Goforth, and Kirk Burns. This staff works closely with Frank Nearhoof of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection's Water Quality Standards and Special Projects Program to jointly coordinate the creation of Volume I, Chapter 2 and its associated appendices. Overall, this large, multidisciplinary document could not be produced without the thoughtful oversight of senior management. In particular, the effective leadership of Linda Lindstrom, Debra Azeredo, Keith R. Smith, and Jan Loftin from the District are gratefully acknowledged.

Other Contributors: The following individuals from the District's Environmental Resource Assessment Department provided essential data analyses and technical assessments for multiple report chapters and appendices in this volume: Violeta Ciuca, Guy Germain, Steven Hill, Nenad Iricanin, Julie LaRock, Cheol Mo, Richard Pfeuffer, Darren Rumbold, and Shi Kui Xue. The following individuals from the District are also acknowledged for their vital assistance in conducting the peer review and public workshops: Robin Campbell, Andrea Carlton, Linda Davis, Trudy Morris, and Michael Wedding.

ii